Select Page

Best Social Responsibility Initiative

Manchester, United Kingdom — 22-25 September 2009

WYSE Archives


The UNWTO 2030 Sustainable Development Goals are thought to stimulate action in supporting change in policies, business practices and consumer behaviour towards a more sustainable tourism sector.

The 2019 Global Youth Travel Award for Social Responsibility recognises organisations that give back to the local or global community through innovative social projects. We are looking for an inspiring example of an organisation giving back to the community.

Examples might include efforts in sustainability, business ethics, best practices, development or activities such as sponsorship of a local charity, running a not-for-profit initiative or even a full-scale Corporate and Social Responsibility programme.

Judging criteria

The panel of judges will evaluate submissions based on the following criteria: 

  • Tangible positive social outcomes
  • Humanitarian intent
  • Community outreach and engagement
  • Management and staff involvement
  • Lasting impacts


The Best Social Responsibility Initiative Award is open to all socially responsible youth, student and educational travel providers.

An organisation can submit multiple entries for the award.

Entries must be in English.

Judging process

All entries must be submitted by Friday, 6 September 2019 at 23:59 CEST.

WYSE Travel Confederation will shortlist a maximum of five entries per category, by reviewing the information submitted with the application forms.

A panel of judges, all of whom are industry experts, will assess shortlisted applications and score each entrant based on the established judging criteria. The highest scoring application will be the winner.

Judges are asked to declare any business connection with shortlisted organisations.

To find out more, please review the full Terms and Conditions.

Previous winners







Would you like to increase
your brand exposure by sponsoring this category?

Best Social Responsibility Initiative application form

Voting for this award category is now closed.